Well Drillers License Renewal Instructions

South Dakota Water Law requires every well driller to have a current drillers license before doing or contracting
for any well drilling work. Enclosed is an application form to renew your License. This form needs to be
completed, signed by each license representative, and returned to this office with the fee. The filing fee is based
on the residency of the license representative(s) -- $200.00 for South Dakota resident(s) and $300.00 for
nonresident(s). You are a resident if your primary residence is located in South Dakota and you have not
claimed residency in any other state within ninety days of filing this application.

The application form must be returned and a license issued before doing any drilling work during the year for
which you are renewing. Renewals submitted after January 31 of the year for which you wish to renew will be
returned and the applicant will have to comply with the requirements for new applications.

South Dakota Law (SDCL 46-6-11) requires the well driller to file a well construction report within 30 days of
well completion. Prior to your license being renewed, the records of well construction need to be submitted for
ALL wells constructed during the year for which you were licensed. The well construction reports must be
complete and accurate or the reports will be returned. If you have not drilled any wells, please indicate this on
the renewal form.

PLEASE NOTE: Some of the operations that are related to water well drilling and completion produce fairly
large quantities of water or drilling fluids that must be handled properly. If drilling fluids or water from a well
cannot be totally contained at the drill site, precautions must be taken so the discharge does not enter any
stream, river, lake, wetland or drainage. If it is necessary to discharge to surface water or to a drainage, the
Department must approve the activity. Unauthorized discharges may result in enforcement action, including the
assessment of penalties of up to $10,000 per day per violation.

Any discharge to surface water that is the result of well drilling operations must meet the conditions of the
General Permit for Temporary Dewatering Activities. Applications for coverage under the General Permit for
Temporary Dewatering Activities may be obtained from the Department of Environment and Natural Resources.
Coverage under this permit can generally be approved within one day of receipt of the application and no fee is
required.

If you have questions, please contact Ken Buhler (605) 773-3352.
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For assistance call (605) 773-3352 Application must be postmarked before
February 1 of the license renewal year

APPLICATION for Renewal of South Dakota and be submitted with the *fee to the:
Well Driller License to Drill, Construct, Redrill, Water Rights Program
Rebuild, Regrout and Recase Wells. 523 E Capitol

) Pierre, SD 57501-3181
License No. *Fee -- $200.00 SD resident; $300.00 nonresident
1. Name of Applicant Phone

(Company)
Address
(Street, RR, box) (City) (State) (Zip code)

Each company must designate at least one License Representative who is responsible for all well drilling and
construction work for or authorized on behalf of the company.

2. License Representative(s)
SD residents?

YesO No O

3. Are you familiar with and agree to abide by the provisions of SDCL 46-6-6 and 46-6-31 inclusive and Water
Management Board Rules, Chapter 74:02:04 (effective July 16, 1992) for well driller licensing, drilling and construction?

Yes () No() Ifanswer is No, please request copies of laws and/or rules before submitting application.

4. During the past calendar year how many wells in South Dakota have you drilled, redrilled, rebuilt, recased, regrouted,
or plugged including any test holes you have drilled or plugged?

5. Pursuant to ARSD 74:02:01:43.11 well driller license representatives/water well pump installer license representatives
must successfully complete four hours of continuing education activities annually. In the space below, provide details
of continuing education activities you participated in within the past year.

DATE ACTIVITY/COURSE SPONSOR INSTRUCTOR CONTACT HOURS

* If a well flows, the completed well must be reduced to the flow actually used. A water permit is required for any well allowed to flow
or being pumped in excess of either 25,920 gallons per day or 25 gallons per minute.

STATE OF )
) SS
COUNTY OF )

License Representative(s) for

(Company)
certify that | (We) have read the foregoing application and that the matter therein stated is true.

Signed

License Representative License Representative

Signed

License Representative License Representative





