SOUTH DAKOTA Department of
Environment & Natural Resources

Protecting South Dakota's Tomorrow...Today!
Joe Foss Building
523 E Capitol
Pierre, SD 57501
Field Offices
Contact Us

Surface Water

Surface Water Discharge Team Staff

The Surface Water Discharge Permitting (SWD) group is responsible for issuing discharge permits for municipal, industrial, and stormwater discharge, conducting inspections, and reviewing plans and specifications.  They are also responsible for handling public relations within their group.

Name Duties Phone Number

Kyle Doerr
   Engineer I

    Wastewater Permitting

    Pesticide Permitting

    Biosolids Coordinator

(605) 773-3351

Tim Flor
   Environmental Scientist III

    ICIS Coordinator

    WET Coordinator

(605) 773-3351

Kathleen Grigg
   Engineer II

    Wastewater Permitting

    Water Quality Modeling

(605) 773-3351

Katie Luce 
   Stormwater Program Assistant

    Construction Stormwater Permits

    Industrial Stormwater Permits

    Temporary Dewatering Permits

1-800-SDSTORM (1-800-737-8676)

Tina McFarling P.E.
    Engineer III

    Wastewater Permitting

    Pretreatment Coordinator

(605) 773-3351

Jill Riedel
   Engineer III

    Sioux Falls Area Stormwater & Wastewater

    Industrial Stormwater

    Air Quality Monitoring

(605) 362-3543

Albert Spangler P.E.
   Engineering Manager I

    Team Leader
(605) 773-3351
Loraine Waller 
   Senior Secretary
    Senior Secretary (605) 773-3351
Ray Woodworth
   Engineer I

    Wastewater Permitting

    Water Treatment Plant Permits

    Water Treatment Plant Permits

    Operator Assistance

(605) 773-3351


Pierre Office

Joe Foss Building

523 East Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD  57501-3181

Rapid City Office

2050 West Main Street, Suite 1

Rapid City, SD  57702-2493

Sioux Falls Regional Office

4305 South Louise, Suite 203
Sioux Falls, SD 57106

The Environment