POLICY FOR OUT-OF-STATE LABORATORIES WISHING TO BECOME CERTIFIED IN
SOUTH DAKOTA FOR THE DRINKING WATER PARAMETERS

The following items are required to begin the process of becoming certified for the analysis of drinking water
compliance samples in the state of South Dakota:

1. Aformal letter requesting certification and listing the parameters and methods for which the laboratory
wishes to be certified,

2. A copy of the laboratory’s quality assurance manual,

3. A copy of the results of proficiency testing samples from the past two years,

4. A copy of the last on-site audit performed on the laboratory by either the state in which it is located or
EPA,

5. A copy of the certification certificate or letter from the state in which it is located or EPA,

6. After the above items are obtained and approved by the state of South Dakota, the required fee must be
submitted before certification will be granted.

The first five items above must be submitted to Stacy Ellwanger at the South Dakota Public Health Laboratory,
615 East 4t Street, Pierre, SD, 57501. You will then be billed accordingly by the laboratory.

Fees are $500 per field of testing: $500 for inorganics
$500 for pesticides
$500 for VOC/THM
$500 for radiochemistry
$500 for microbiology

To retain certification, the laboratory must provide copies of or notification of the following items within 30 days of
receipt or change:

1. Any change in the quality assurance manual that could possibly affect the validity of generated analytical
data used by customers seeking compliance under the Safe Drinking Water Act,

A copy of the results of annual proficiency testing samples,

A copy of the results of any state or EPA on-site audits,

Any change in the certification status in the state in which the laboratory is located,

Any major change in personnel, equipment or laboratory location,

Any change in the analytical Standard Operating Procedure used for testing of compliance samples.
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If any of the above items are not provided, the lab will be decertified. There is no provisional certification for out of
state laboratories.

South Dakota will grant certification for only those parameters the laboratory is granted certification for by the
state in which it is located or by EPA. The laboratory requesting certification must use methods cited in the
drinking water regulations 40 CFR part 141. South Dakota certifies for only the drinking water parameters. We
reserve the right to perform our own on-site audit. We do not accept NELAC certification at this time.



